Original Song: Stand In My Way

June 6, 2011

I wrote this in early 2010.  I wrote it when life took a turn and I thought, “Wow, I don’t have any more chess pieces to move.  The only way out of this is through supernatural help from God.”   The ending still needs a little work, but you’ll get the idea.

Stand In My Way

Blessed are the doubtful in spirit
Blessed are the bankrupt of heart
Blessed are the poor
Who never learned more
Than a life to quit before they knew to start

Blessed are the damaged and hopeful
Who are numb to all the shards in their mind
Blessed are the jarred
The prideful and guarded
Who traded life for something more refined

And I am broken too
But all I need is you

Show me something logic can just not explain
Won’t you stand in my way
Prove to me you’re more than just words on a page
Won’t you stand in my way

You are the cloud in my sunrise
But you bring the life giving rains
You are the dart
The pierces my heart
With a poison slowly coursing through my veins

You are the furnace that burns me
But tempering is fine for right now
And that which doesn’t kill
Will make me strong until
I can figure out the why’s and the how’s

And now I think I see
Beautiful me

Show me something logic can just not explain
Won’t you stand in my way
Prove to me you’re more than just words on a page
Won’t you stand in my way

2 Responses to “Original Song: Stand In My Way”

  1. Katie Hahs said

    For the second time in a week, you have reduced me to tears. I need a bigger box of Kleenex if Im gonna continue to be your friend. lol

  2. Patricia said

    “Liked” very much

Leave a Reply

